Smurfit Kappa European Open

Brief History

The history of the Smurfit European Open held at The K Club Straffan, County Kildare has been varied and colorful as any on the European circuit.

Born of one man’s vision in 1995, The Smurfit European Open quickly established itself as one of the flagship events on the European Tour.

Today, it is highly hailed as the finest inland courses in Ireland and the K Club Smurfit Course is a true championship course that continues to grow in popularity with players and spectators alike.


The progress of the Smurfit European Open status over time is reflected in the impressive list of winners from the who’s who of the global golfing world, with each carving out their own sense of drama for enthralled spectators. For example, who could forget Bernhard Langer’s sixty foot putt on the 18th green to win the 1995 inaugural European Open. Or, what about Darren Clarke’s unforgettable course record of 60 in the second round of the 1999 event and the 2004 landmark period for Smurfit European Open winner Retief Goosen who not only won the prestigious Smurfit European Open title but just 2 weeks previous to this saw him taking his second US Open title.

The progress of the tournament’s status over time is now reflected in the fact that it has now become the second richest in Europe after the Open Championship.

  • 2007 Colin Montgomerie
  • 2006 Stephen Dodds
  • 2005 Keneth Ferie
  • 2004 Retief Goosen
  • 2003 Phillip Price
  • 2002 Michael Campbell
  • 2001 Darren Clarke
  • 2000 Lee Westwood
  • 1999 Lee Westwood
  • 1998 Mathias Gronberg
  • 1997 Per-Ulrik Johansson
  • 1996 Per-Ulrik Johansson
  • 1995 Bernhard Langer